Great Idea

CoasterWood

Yesterday Carowinds Amusement Park in South/North Carolina tweeted this photo as part of a contest to win a piece of a wood roller coaster that will be giving its final ride on July 26th.  I am an avid roller coaster enthusiast and the thought of owning a piece of any roller coaster gave me chills.  While I never have had the chance to go down to Carowinds I know I would have enjoyed Thunder Road because it looks very similar to the Racer at my home park of Kings Island.

Now what I feel is the brilliant thing is how Carowinds has taken pieces of the ride and engraved it with a beautiful design.  They’re basically taking wood that is most likely going to the landfill and turning into a collectors piece.  I’m attracted because it combines what looks like laser engraving with roller coasters, but I’m sure such a showpiece would be a priced showpiece for many a Carowinds faithful.

I think it is such a great idea that I’m going to be on the lookout for classic structures that might be demolished and try to find a way to save some of the wood or brick and turn it into a keepsake by doing something similar what Carowinds has done for Thunder Road.  Maybe that way a small piece of any demolished structure can live on with those who loved it.

Leave a Reply

